Tuesday, April 23, 2013

Review: Mind Games by Kiersten White

Cover Blurb:
          Perfect for fans of Sara Shepard’s Lying Game series, Kiersten White’s Mind Games, a novel about two sisters trapped in a web of deceit, was called "lightning fast and fabulously fun" by bestselling author Laini Taylor.
Fia and Annie are as close as two sisters can be. They look out for each other. Protect each other. And most importantly, they keep each other’s secrets, even the most dangerous ones: Annie is blind, but can see visions of the future; Fia was born with flawless intuition—her first impulse is always exactly right. When the sisters are offered a place at an elite boarding school, Fia realizes that something is wrong . . . but she doesn’t grasp just how wrong. 
          The Keane Institute is no ordinary school, and Fia is soon used for everything from picking stocks to planting bombs. If she tries to refuse, they threaten her with Annie’s life. Now Fia’s falling in love with a boy who has dark secrets of his own. And with his help, she’s ready to fight back. They stole her past. They control her present. But she won’t let them take her future.

          I loved Fia and Annie far more than I have loved characters for quite a while. I enjoy characters all the time, but I honestly loved the characters in Mind Games. Fia and Annie make such a sharp contrast: Fia, fiery. Annie, reserved and thoughtful, but not dramatically so. They were realistic and unique without shifting into the land of the stereotypical. And despite the hard things they go through their fierce loyalty and love for each other is inspiring. I also found myself appreciating James. At the beginning I thought I had him pegged as the arrogant yet sexy bad boy (I rolled my eyes at this, but felt I could suffer through it). But boy oh boy is he deeper than that. He still isn't a person I can respect, but I don't think that's Kiersten White's intent. Despite his important position, he becomes someone simply trying find his way through the storm around him. But most especially, I loved Adam. Adam was sweet and average and totally adorable in an underused way. He was the kind of character you want everyone to find.
Characters: 5 Stars
          And the plot! The PLOT. Kiersten promised us something grittier than the Paranormalcy Trilogy, and we got it. Two girls being manipulated through their love for each other, each trying to simply make it to the next day. The book seems short (Only 237 pages), but it packed so much bang for its buck that I didn't notice the length. I am tremendously grateful that Kiersten White realized this as well and let the story tell itself despite its shorter length. I loved every second of it, and then the ending came and knocked me over flat. Suddenly everything made sence, and was so much brighter and deeper than I expected! (I'm really not one for spoilers of even the mildest sort.)
Plot: 5 Stars
         Of course the style was wonderful as well. It was definitely different from Paranormalcy but not so different that it felt strange. Kiersten White has a trademark flowing style that pours the story into the reader's mind at the pace it should be taken, no slower or faster. And I cannot wait till Chaos of the Stars.
Style: 4.5 Stars

Rating: 4.8 Stars
Source: Library
Genre: Sci-fi/Fantasy?
YA Fiction

No comments:

Post a Comment